Windows Live Spaces in spam


Spammers have found a new victim. After the use of Google URLs spammers now use Windows Live Spaces in their spam campaigns.

Superior Relief Offers

http://************.spaces.live.com/default.aspx

your boss told you
so that you can spend
Lusia R., New York

Following the link in the spam messages leads to a Windows Live Space with spam for “all kinds of meds” with a link to the Discount Pharmacy.

Angelina Jolie


About an hour ago, a new variant of the Angelina Jolie mailware emails has been intercepted. She is still very popular when it comes to malware.

Some previous emails regarding the Jolie video included an URL to a web site where a malware file was hosted named video-anjelina.avi.exe, video-nude-anjelina.avi.exe or something similar.

This time there is an attached file Angelina_Jolie.rar that contains Angelina_Jolie.exe to the email. The .rar archive is password protected and the password is included in the email. This is somehow good news so you can’t double click and execute the malware by accident.

Virus Total permalink and MD5: 672b90f8297836e6bdc6549ae7425346.

The subject is most of the time Anjelina Jolie Free Video but can change of course.

This malware has a low threat profile but makes connections to remote hosts. It is assumed that the real infection will be done with these downloaded files. The backdoor component allows the remote hacker to download/install additional components. On one of the remote hosts the file video-nude-anjelina.avi.exe is downloaded.

Only 2 engines of the 36 detect that this file is not to be trusted. Virus Total permalink and MD5: 785a11b9eef80dce6810ee6f1ada5adc.

CNN Daily Top 10 leads users to site hosting malware


Following the links in the CNN.com Daily Top 10 email could lead you to sites that hosts malware. MX Lab detected and intercepted the first messages at around 7:48 PM local Belgian time and is monitoring an outbreak of this type.

Malware authors are abusing CNN by using the logo, the lay out and the concept of the CNN Daily Top 10 to distribute emails with URLs that point to sites that host malware.

The messages itself is sent from a random generated user email address not on the cnn.com domain. The links behind the top 10 directs you to a web site that should show you the video but instead gives you an error that an incorrect Flash player is installed.

A pop up window will ask you to download the correct video codec, an executable called get_flash_update.exe, but this is in fact the Trojan-Downloader.Agent.EL. This trojan ca an download and installs other malware onto infected machine.

This trojan will in fact create a new process on an infected machine: %System%\cbevtsvc.exe and creates a new service CbEvtSvc in the system. Quite some registry modifications are being made as well as a direct IP address connection to a remote host on TCP/IP port 443.

Virus Total permalink and MD5: dabb5a9b431c88c77281bcf1158a9879.

Remark: CNN is not responsible for the CNN Daily Top 10 that contained URLs to sites that host malware in the form of a downloadable Flash codec.

ZBot in “PayPal Rechnung”


A new ZBot variant appears in PayPal “Rechnung” emails. The attached files contains the ZBot malware variant, at this moment, only detected by 3 anti virus angines out of the 36 on Virus Total 7 PM local Belgian time. This type of distribution was also detected late June by MX Lab.

The content of the malware emails

Sehr geehrte Kunden,

Ihr Auftrag Nr. SP4323451 wurde erfullt.
Ein Betrag von 6789.46 EURO wurde abgebucht und wird in Ihrem Bankauszug als “Paypalabbuchung ” angezeigt.

Sie finden die Details zu der Rechnung im Anhang

PayPal (Europe)
S.031; r.l. & Cie, S.C.A.
46-31 Boulevard Royal
L-1472 Luxembourg

Hochachtungsvoll,
Vertretungsberechtigter: Christopher Darden
Handelsregisternummer: R.C.S. B 734 037

Trojan-Spy.Zbot is a rootkit trojan which steals online banking information and downloads other malware as well. It opens backdoors on infected computer to allow malicious attacker unauthorized access.

The malware seems to have it’s origin in Russia and also connects to a Russian web site at http://*******.ru/millioner/millionertest.bin. It also creates some files on the system like ntos.exe and it modifies te registry.

Virus Total permalink and the MD5 hash is 606ab42e4c906f933bc9c5ab62b798d9.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 346 other followers